Sorry.......

willstephens1
11-12-2003, 01:08 PM
I know it must be really annoying for you guys when someone like me comes and asks the most stupid questions, but im really struggling with my college project and at present i have no reference to help me ( i do have same VB on its way).

Im trying to search for text in a listbox. I have the following code.

Private Sub CmdSearch_Click()
For i = 1 To 15
If TxtTitle.Text Like title(i) Then
lbltitle.Caption = title(i)
End If
Next i
End Sub

So when the user clicks the cmdsearch button, the txttitle textbox data is compared to an array of string i have called title(15) and whe it gets the right match it will paste the name of the relevant title(15) into the lbltitle label.

Unfortunatly, when i run the program, as soon as i click on the cmdsearch i get the message "sub or function not defined" and the "title(i)" after the "like" is highlighted.

I have never used the "like" command before but i presumeit is there if you need to compare to variables.

Im not sure if ive explained myself fully here but if anyone has any ideas i would appreciate it.

Thanks

Will

wilbert
11-12-2003, 01:24 PM
Just replace 'Like' with '='
If txttitle.text = title(i) then

Wilbert

Cert
11-12-2003, 01:25 PM
Has Title() been initilized/declared & given data?

willstephens1
11-12-2003, 01:26 PM
Nope, didnt work, i did try that first before i tried "like". It just comes up with the same error message.

willstephens1
11-12-2003, 01:27 PM
Yes, title was initialised

Private Sub Form_Load()

Dim title(15) As String
Dim genre(15) As String
Dim year(15) As Integer
Dim rating(15) As String
Dim length(15) As Integer
Dim description(15) As String

That is the first few lines of the form_load routine.

I did think that maybe it had something to do with title being a local variable and not a global one but we havent covered that at college yet so wasnt sure.

wilbert
11-12-2003, 01:35 PM