Another little problem!!

Confused II
04-03-2004, 03:21 PM
Hi!
Back again with another little problem!! The following bit of my programme asks the user for a name of the machine and number of items produced to update the corresponding 'number in stock' value. It all seems to working except it doesn't update the number value!! Once again I'll just say I'm new to programming and it's getting late so it's probably something really stupid!! :chuckle: Anyway, I'd appreciate any help!

Sub Add_Stock()

'Button 4- This adds new stock on to the database when new items are manufactured

'Read Data

For i = 1 To 100
machine(i) = Cells(i + 6, 3).Value
Next i

For i = 1 To 100
availability(i) = Cells(i + 6, 5).Value
Next i

'Ask user for the name of the machine

1 name2 = InputBox("What is the name of the machine?", "Name of Machine")

'Ask the user for the number of machines that have been manufacturee

number = InputBox("How many of " & name2 & " have been manufactured?", "Amount of New Stock")

matching_machine2 = "No"

For i = 1 To 99
If UCase(machine(i)) = UCase(name2) Then

matching_machine2 = "Yes"

'Check that the information is correct

check2 = MsgBox("Are you sure you want to add " & number & " of " & name2 & " to the database?", vbYesNoCancel, "Confirm Amendment")

If check2 = vbYes Then
temp7 = availability(i)
availability(i) = (temp7 + name)
'Output new 'number in stock' value
Cells(i + 6, 5).Value = availability(i)
Else
End
End If

Else
End If
Next i

'If there are no machines matching this name ask user to check if the spelling is correct

If matching_machine2 = "No" Then
MsgBox ("There are no machines in the database matching this name. Please ensure your spelling is correct!")
GoTo 1
Else
End If

End Sub

Thanks!
Lisa

sseller
04-03-2004, 03:27 PM
Hi Lisa

Shouldn't that be temp7 = number?

Confused II
04-03-2004, 03:36 PM
Just realised what I've done-I've put name instead of number, knew it was something stupid!!It works now! Thanks for you help!!

Vb_R_Us