Unrecognised database format

Raj7
04-14-2004, 10:58 AM
I made a program that would display certain details from a database, however when i tried to run it it said unrecognised database fromat. Can anyone helo please?

Thanks
Raj

reboot
04-14-2004, 11:08 AM
What database?

What version of VB?

What VB service pack?

Which mdac?

Raj7
04-15-2004, 07:49 AM
What database?Access

What version of VB?6 Proffessional edition

What VB service pack?Microsoft ADO data control(i think this is wot u mean)

Which mdac?mdac?????????!!!!!!!!

MKoslof
04-15-2004, 07:51 AM
Go to http://www.msdn.com.

Go to the downloads section and do a search for 'MDAC'

Download the newest version and use this within your VB project (go to references and check the Microsoft Active Data Objects 2.X library).

Raj7
04-15-2004, 08:00 AM
i downloaded it and apparently i already have it installed. I do not thinkthis is the problem, because i tested on a a database and it worled fine, now whewn i changed it it says that it does not recogise the format. Can anyone help plz?

Raj

MKoslof
04-15-2004, 08:21 AM
Download service pack 5 for VB 6. Also, make sure you have the proper Microsoft Jet Provider dlls (if using Microsoft Access, I am assuming this righ now) again, all from MSDN

Raj7
04-15-2004, 08:32 AM
Download service pack 5 for VB 6. Also, make sure you have the proper Microsoft Jet Provider dlls (if using Microsoft Access, I am assuming this righ now) again, all from MSDN
Firstly my msdn doesnt work it says it does not exist and i tried to reinstall it but it doesn't work. I have installed the service pack after uininstalling my current one and the problem is persisting, i have also checked the jet provider dlls and it is fine. Do u know why this is happening?

Thanks
Raj

MKoslof
04-15-2004, 08:37 AM
So are you using DAO or ADO for this project. Here is an MSDN article on this.

Basically, if you are using DAO, make sure you are referencing DAO 3.6 in your project file, not a lower version. If using ADO, make sure you declare the 4.0 Jet provider in your connection string, NOT 3.51 if using Access 2000 or higher.

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;238401

Raj7
04-15-2004, 08:47 AM
Thanks, i was using ado and a veresion access 2002 and was using jet 3,51 thanks :)
Raj

MKoslof
04-15-2004, 09:14 AM
No problem. Good luck

EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum