Specifying a password on the database - will this cause problems for VB?

VBKid04
04-19-2004, 09:36 AM
I have created my project so that it can easily interact with the database...

But what if I specify a password on the database?

Will I have to change my code a lot if I need to connect to the database with a password rather than just connect to an open (no password) database?

The database is Access by the way.

Thanks.

HardCode
04-19-2004, 09:42 AM
If you pass an empty string ( "" ) as the password to an un-passworded DB, it should work fine.

VBKid04
04-19-2004, 09:45 AM
yes, at present it is un-passworded and is working fine,

but i want to password protect it.


wondering if this will cause problems in my code and involve many changes?

HardCode
04-19-2004, 09:49 AM
Are you connecting with an ADO Connection object? If so, you can look at http://www.able-consulting.com/ADO_Conn.htm for the different JET connection strings. Try the one that uses a password. You only have to change your connection string. It should work the way your DB is set up now passing "" as the password. Try it out. As lon as it works now, then when you password the DB you are all set because you are using a password now, albeit an empty string.

EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum