Robby
01-23-2002, 01:09 PM
I didn't know how else to title this thread...
My friend went to a web site, he did not sign up for
anything, just looked at a few pages....
Now, each ten minutes, IE opens up and goes to that site. Ouch!!!
I guided him through the registry, startup, system info, history,
cookies and so on. It’s still there.
Do these web masters think that they are doing a service to their clients?
I would never go back to a sight that did this.
This didn't happen to me but I'm fuming that this even exists.
Any thoughts on a fix for my buddy?
BTW, he's on Win ME.
Volte
01-23-2002, 01:47 PM
Do a search for *.vbs or *.wsh files to see if there are any scripts executing. Other than that, it sounds like this site is using some sort of security hole or exploit that is allowing this - it doesn't seem like something any normal internet site would be able to do.
Out of curiosity, what was this site? I really don't want to go to this site by accident, so I wanna know what to avoid.
Robby
01-23-2002, 01:49 PM
I'll tell him to search for .vbs.
Thanks.
I'll get the URL and post it.
Ales Zigon
01-23-2002, 01:51 PM
Some time ago I had similar problem. I also tried every trick in the book and nothing worked. Then in my desperation, I went and removed internet options from installed windows components, reboot the computer and install them back. Guess what happened? Everything was back to normal.
Try it - it might work (this was on 98SE but it should do on ME).
Robby
01-23-2002, 01:54 PM
Thanks zigona, I'll pass on the message.
reboot
01-23-2002, 02:37 PM
Seems like there should be somebody somewhere you could report this to. I'd bet it falls into the illegal category.
Ales Zigon
01-23-2002, 03:44 PM
Agree on the "Should" part. I don't think there's such thing as "Web security agency". But then again... who knows?
Robby
01-23-2002, 05:07 PM
reboot, I wish there was a place or agency for this type of activity.
I will though track down their email or something and send them a piece of my mind.
My god, imagine my reaction to this if this happened to me.
As I said, I will post the URL later tonight.
BTW, It seems that the entire web site is in German.
Robby
01-24-2002, 09:03 PM
This is the URL so that you do not go to it,
I repeat DO NOT go to www.da.ru.com
ooh...it's like pandora's box :rolleyes:
divil
01-25-2002, 03:23 AM
Dammit, now I'll give in to temptation and go there by the end of the day.
Flyguy
01-25-2002, 03:26 AM
Some advice, turn off javascript, scripting etc. when entering ;)