colition detection

moo123
01-30-2002, 09:42 AM
hey if ya have 2 movin objects, and you want something to happen when they colide,how do you detect they have colided. get me? (i'm fairly new to vb)

reboot
01-30-2002, 10:59 AM
well... I searched this forum for "collision detection" and got All These (http://www.visualbasicforum.com/search.php?s=&action=showresults&searchid=5204&sortby=lastpost&sortorder=descending) hits.

Searching is cool..... :)

Teric
01-30-2002, 01:02 PM
On a basic level, collision detection works in this manner:

You have two objects, let's call them ObjA and ObjB.

Each object has an X and Y coordinate (and a Z coordinate as well, if you're working in 3D).

Each object also has a height and width (and depth in 3D).

In 2D terms, you can use the X, Y, height and width to detect if a collision occurs between ObjA and ObjB. There are several ways of doing this.

1. If your X and Y coordinates indicate the upper left corner of your object, then the dimensions of your object can be determined by a rectangle. This rectangle can be shown by drawing horizontal lines at Y and at Y + Height, and by drawing vertical lines at X and at X + Width. This rectange can be determined for both objects (you don't have to draw it, just know where the edges are). In order to detect a collision, you check to see if the corners or edges of both objects have overlapped. You can do this using the following:

'First Check to see if there is an 'X Collision' (You can draw a
'vertical line down through both objects)
If (ObjA.X >= ObjB.X and ObjA.X <= (ObjB.X + ObjB.Width)) Or _
((ObjA.X + ObjA.Width) >= ObjB.X and (ObjA.X + ObjA.Width) <= (ObjB.X + ObjB.Width)) Then
'We know that the objects are on the same vertical line, now
'check Y Collision
If (ObjA.Y >= ObjB.Y and ObjA.Y <= (ObjB.Y + ObjB.Height)) Or _
((ObjA.Y + ObjA.Height) >= ObjB.Y and (ObjA.Y + ObjB.Height) <= (ObjB.Y + ObjB.Height)) Then
'Collision!
'Do your collision code here.
End If
End If