cant figure out Collection

07-04-2004, 08:20 AM
i've been looking for a way to do this for days now, i'm not very talented myself im quite new to VB but heres my prob.

i want to create a collection i think, or instances of a class or something like that, right now i have a class called 'Entity' with property 'keycomments' this is just one of the properties i have a few irrelevant ones.

when i click my button i want the text entered in KeyvalID to use as the name of my new instance of Entity, shown as follows:

If KeyvalID.Text = "" Then
MsgBox ("You must enter an ID.")
End If

Dim temp
temp = KeyvalID.Text

Dim bla(temp) As New Entity

'in a function later on this lower section will happen
'and for now it assumes the KeyvalID.Text earlier was "npc_roll"

bla(npc_roll).keycomments = "It Works!"

KeyvalComments.Text = bla(npc_roll).keycomments 'this is on screen for the user to see.

i know this doesnt work because i have to have a constant expression when making the bla(temp), and 'temp' is not constant, but how can i go about achieving this, all i want is the ability to type

bla(npc_roll).keycomments = "It Works!"

i have to be able to create an instance of the class Entity with the name of the users choice.

also if i'm going to have to use a collection, can you explain very carefully because no matter how much i look at tutorials and examples on MSDN or other sites, i just cant figure them out! for a start i cant type

public class bla
end class

it doesnt allow any of it.

i'm just totally stumped on making collections.

Read on if your willing to help find an alternative :):