has anyone played steel empire or cyber empire?, with my map i want to have countries

andreww
01-31-2002, 09:43 PM
if anyone had ever played steel empire or cyber empire...it is a very old game now

well in those games (they the same game just on different computer type)

anyway in those games there is a building screen where you can view a large map with many countries on it.

my problem is i want to make countries with borders that arnt square, but zigzaggy like real life when you look at a map.

but i have no idea on how to do this, and how to detect if the mouse is inside the countries borders for when selecting it

any help?

Makkers
01-31-2002, 11:35 PM
This isnt a correct solution but....
You could load up various shaped forms on the screen, that fit together. There are various examples of shaped forms on the Net.

Ill try to attach someones example of a shaped form here.

Squirm
02-01-2002, 04:44 AM
You should look into regions for this, involving the following APIs:

CreatePolygonRgn
CreatePolyPolygonRgn
CombineRgn
PtInRegion

For a list of quite a few Region functions look here (VBAPI.com) (http://www.vbapi.com/ref/funcc.html#regions) :)

EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum