Calculate number of hours between 2 times

NoviceMe
10-12-2004, 08:54 AM
Hi,

I am totally new to SQL, and am currently trying to calculate the number of hours that have elapsed between 2 times, then multiply this by a value in a 3rd column as follows to produce the total_hours_spent

s-time e_time staff
01:00:00 03:00:00 2

I have a little knowledge of vba, but this doesn't help me at all. Can anyone show me how I do this with a query? It also needs to consider times that go past midnight i.e. s_time = 23:00:00, e_time = 01:00:00

Cheers :D

loquin
10-12-2004, 10:10 AM
What's your database?

Access, SQL Server, MySQL, Oracle, PostgreSQL, etc., ALL use a variation of SQL to access the data. But, NONE of them are 100% ANSI SQL compliant, and each offers non-standard extensions to perform various functions.

SQL Server, for instance, uses the DateDiff function, while MySQL uses a similar function called DateSub, while PostgreSQL uses the Age function.

tboltfrank
10-12-2004, 04:12 PM
Hi Noviceme,

I remember from another thread, awhile back, that you had said you were going to start learning Access, so I thought would likely be what youíre using. - If so, (as Loquin pointed out), the DateDiff function, would likely be a good way to go.

Try this:

Dim strSQL As String

strSQL = "UPDATE Your_Table SET [Ttl_Hours] = " & _
"DateDiff('h', [S_DateAndTime], [F_DateAndTime])"

DoCmd.RunSQL (strSQL)

Or, if you only need to process an individual record:

' ...
"DateDiff('h', [S_DateAndTime], [F_DateAndTime]) " & _
"WHERE [NameField] = 'John Smith'"
' ...

I configured the Start/Finish Date-Time Fields as "Date/Time" DataType
and Formatted it "General"
ie: 12/12/2004 11:00:00 PM

With the Ttl_Hours field, I used "Number" DataType
and set the field size to: "Double"