Windows Service

MrScripter
12-28-2004, 11:28 AM
I'm new to creating a windows service, and have followed the tutorial on msdn, that creates a log file every 10seconds I think it is. But what I want to do is run a vb6 program whenenver their is a change in a .mdb file. Let me explain in more detail. I have a program, written in vb6, and it's connected to an access db on the back end. What I want to do is run that program whenever the .mdb file changes. I'm basically looking for any ideas, since I have never written a windows service before. Any suggestions?

MrScripter
01-03-2005, 02:12 PM
Hmm any ideas?

robertg
01-04-2005, 05:26 AM
One possible idea. Have your service check and store the date/time stamp of the .mdb, then when it runs again, recheck the date/time stamp and compare the each new check with the original. When they don't match, you know a change has been made. Then, the lastest date/time stamp would be used for future comparisions.

unclebill
01-04-2005, 11:46 AM
Another alternative is to have your program run continually and periodically [every minute, 5 mins, hour, etc.] check the last written timestamp on the target file. Then your program can perform your desired operation(s) when it detects the change to the mdb.

MrScripter
01-04-2005, 03:56 PM
Hey guys, thanks for the replies, I'm not at work right now but I have a question on parts of the code, i'd explain now but i think it'll be easier to understand if i post the code to, I'll post back tomorrow when I have the code.

MrScripter
01-20-2005, 11:18 AM
I'm trying to write a file onto our server with a windows service. For testing right now im just using: FileOpen(1, "path/filename", OpenMode.Output)