Implementing a HyperTerminal Style Window - textbox/rich text box?

techsupportpete
02-14-2005, 01:59 AM
:D Hi,
Im wanting to implement a HyperTerminal Style interface in my application. I need to be able to perform the standard hyperterminal features using the escape codes....

namely; Column and Row Positioning, Clear screen (which should be easy), etc...

Is it possible to easily do the Col/Row position using a text box? or is a RichText box the way forward??? Or is there some other type of control i should use instead?

The window should run as fast as possible since my data will be transmitted via Ethernet rather than RS232 and hence the receive rates will be potentially much higher than that of RS232. I will also need to limit the history of the text box too so that I dont use up all of the available memory!

Any help / suggestions is greatly appreciated,

thanks,

pete
:confused:

Verphix
02-14-2005, 06:20 AM
a richTextBox would be the way to go.

Tutorials:
http://www.xtremevbtalk.com/showthread.php?t=33351
http://www.xtremevbtalk.com/showthread.php?t=13512

techsupportpete
02-15-2005, 01:15 AM
hi,
i have looked through the tutorials and think that its ok to do the positioning of the text on a line, however I am not sure how to select which line to output the text on.

ie want to be able to perform a command such as:

PutText(30,4,"Test String")

where 30 = number of columns across and 4 = number of lines down...
following this command I may wish to issue a command:
PutText(3,1,"Another string") where this is now only 3 cols in and on the first line...

i dont see in the tutorial anything that allows me to set the row(line) however i think the selstart command will cover the 'indent' (30 or 3 in the examples above),

Any ideas about the row numbers?

rgds
pete

EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum