Some Help please..

trevland06
03-13-2002, 05:28 PM
Hiya... im new to programing sort of.. im only 13 so i need this explaioned detailed but understandable... Ive been playing a Game Called Ultima Online and ive been programing in there language called Sphere. That is easy enough and i hear its a combo of VB6 and VC++. i wanna start programming games. I have been messing with VB before in 4th and 5th grade but i couldnt do it.. im going to give it another go but i need a lot of help. i want to mess around with a small easy game which i have an idea for. but my goal is to make a funny game that me and my friends can play on the internet. So.. Any tips.. Pointers.. Places to start are all appreciated. i know bitblt is recamendedor something but i dont understand it. so,.. whatever needs done just tell me.. cya.......

Thanks

orufet
03-13-2002, 05:50 PM
It would be unwise to try to start making a game with little experience in Visual Basic. Before you can make a half-decent game, you'll need to know about all sorts of other programming concepts. (Loops, conditional statements, graphic API calls, functions, etc). Making a game without any background knowledge of VB is hard. (Believe me, it was the first thing I tried as well. I got so frustrated I left VB for three months, only coming back after realizing my foolishness.)

The best way to learn a language like VB (in my opinion) is to try to take a class. I never got the chance to with VB, but it helped me a ton when I started learning C++. Also, it would be a very good idea to visit your local (large) bookstore. Books are extremely helpful, although sometimes quite expensive. There is a list of recommended books in the Tutor's Corner.

If you have any questions, ask away; that's what we're here for.

trevland06
03-13-2002, 05:55 PM
well. i have a CD on learning VB for Middle School Ages (like myself). I learned some things like Strings.. Dims... the basics..
what now? can i start yet.. hehe.

orufet