Prime Numbers - Using a Function

dawnb1
05-31-2005, 02:35 PM
I'm a newbie to VB and I have an assignment as follows.. User enters a low bound (number) and then a high bound - and a Function called Prime must return true or false, and then display all prime numbers between the two bounds in a textbox. Example between 2 and 20 - the following must be displayed in the textbox 2, 3, 5, 7, 11, 13, 17, 19.....

I just learned about Functions, but I have NO idea how to make VB determine prime... any idea's?

Please help...

jpaugh78
05-31-2005, 02:38 PM
i found this using google:
http://www.xtremecomp.com/tips/xttip19.htm

Bolek
05-31-2005, 03:02 PM
As far as I know the only way to determine if a number is prime is to try it. You can try it by the definition of prime which says that a prime is such a number that can only be divided by 1 and itself. So to determine if a number is a prime, you try to divide it by all numbers from 2 to sqrt(that_number)+1. If it cannot be divided by any of these number, it is a prime. If it can be divided, it is not a prime. To find if it can divided, use a mod b which gives the remainder of a divided by b.

Obviusly, all numbers are divisible by 1. You can save some time by dividing just by 2 and leave out any even numbers greater than two because if a number is not divisible by 2, then it is not divisible by any of its multiples.

To the sqrt( ): it saves you much time and the reason behind is that if a number X can be divided by A, then it can also be divided by B=X/A. For example, the number 105=3*5*7 can be divided by 3, 5, 7, 15, 21 and 35. However, it is quite useless to try any number Y > sqrt(105) because surely 105/Y < sqrt(105). So only divisors D from 2 to sqrt(105) are of interest since all other divisors can be written as X/D.

So the code will be something like

public function IsPrime( byval X as long) as boolean
dim q as long, e as long
dim b as boolean

' Test two a special case
if x mod 2 = 0 then
isprime=false