CallByName

Nowhere Man
06-06-2005, 04:29 PM
Hi,

I've recently discovered the great CallByName function. Because I'm still learning about this function I still have a lot of questions.

What I would like to do is make a dynamic listbar. When I click an item on the menubar (from vbAcellerator, the outlook toolbar) I pass the key string to a sub where I retreive the object and method. The string for the object contains the name of a form and the string for the method has the value "Show"

I've discovered that the CallByName function doesn't accept a string as object, is there a way to change the string of the object to an actual object?

this is the code I have right now

Dim key As String
Dim sObject As string
Dim sMethod As String
Dim iPositionSplit As Long
Dim iStrLen As Long

'split the object and method from the string
key = "frmSelLln-show"
iPositionSplit = InStr(key, "-")
iStrLen = Len(key)
sObject = Mid(key, 1, iPositionSplit - 1)
sMethod = Mid(key, iPositieSplit + 1, iStrLen - iPositionSplit)

'call methode
CallByName sObject, sMethod, VbMethod

TeraBlight
06-06-2005, 06:38 PM
Hi,

this is rather similar to the problem I'm having.

But it's a little simpler, because in your case, a Collection does exist inside VB that should solve your problem: It's called "Forms" (surprise!)

I just tried this in a sample project:

Dim myForm As Variant
For Each myForm In Forms
MsgBox myForm.Name
Next

and I get get a series of message boxes with the name of each form in turn.
Now you just need to compare the myForm.Name with your string and brake the loop at that point, and myForm will contain a reference to the form you are looking for:

Dim myForm As Variant
For Each myForm In Forms
If myForm.Name = nameIAmLookingFor Then Exit For
Next

CallByName myForm, [...]

Hope that helps...

edit: Ah, I just noticed that it says in the help that "Forms" contains a list of *all loaded* forms rather than *all* forms in a project. Something to bear in mind!

Nowhere Man