Fairly ambitious claim...

Oddlore
08-12-2005, 02:51 AM
I would like to start off by apologising if this information is already available in parts, but i have had no luck finding any completely relevant to me yet, plus i am a mediocre programmer so i wouldn't even know what i was looking at.

Okay, so today i told my friend, cause i'm a moron, that i could make any program in the world he wanted by next thursday. It could be really absurdly ambitious or just not even possible or it might be easy, but if i could get some help it would be awesome. What he decided was this: a program that ties in with winamp or windows media player which googles the currently playing song for lyrics and then proceeds to take a randomly selected lyric from that song and put it in your msn name. For me, the idiot who said, "pffft, hell YES i can do it", it now sounds outrageously hard, what with the tying in with different programs and having to distinguish, in some way, lyrics on a website from just text.

So, if you have any suggestions, even if it's that i should give up, or that i have posted in the wrong forum or something, it would be greatly appreciated.

TeraBlight
08-12-2005, 04:22 AM
It's not completely undoable (not much is, after all ;))
The biggest hurdle seems to be the idea of just googling for lyrics... if, instead, you chose one specific site that has a searchable lyrics database, all of them would hopefully be in the same format and not too hard to parse out.

Still, if you consider yourself a "mediocre programmer", one week is really not a whole lot of time for something like this...

Anyway, welcome to the forums :)

b0b
08-12-2005, 05:07 AM
For the MSN name have a look at the forum on http://www.mess.be in the Add-ons, Plug-ins and Chat Bots section you will be able to find out how to use the MSN API to change the display name.

Oddlore
08-12-2005, 06:32 AM
It's not completely undoable (not much is, after all ;))