Calling subs between forms

visualsteve
03-21-2006, 12:42 AM
Hello, I am new to VB .NET. I would like to call a picturebox1_click sub from a form2_keydown sub, how can I do this? Also, how can I pass variables between forms? I tried Public and Shared Dim's, but strangely that didn't work. Any assistance is appreciated.

cosmosis
03-21-2006, 02:33 AM
check out this thread

http://www.xtremevbtalk.com/showthread.php?t=257209

visualsteve
03-21-2006, 07:02 PM
I still don't understand! And it doesn't address variables. Thanks, but I may need some more help. I've declared "Public" variables in both forms and their values weren't retained. Do I also have to declare Public both forms in each other also?

I've declared the forms public, and the program was able execute when I called subs from that other form, but halted and gives the error:
Object variable or With block variable not set.
I don't understand.

cosmosis
03-22-2006, 12:43 AM
I still don't understand! And it doesn't address variables. Thanks, but I may need some more help. I've declared "Public" variables in both forms and their values weren't retained. Do I also have to declare Public both forms in each other also?

who said you should declare public variables in both forms? if you study the thread behind the link i gave you more carefully, you'd see that a Module is the way to go. Rightclick on your project, Add -> Add New Item... -> Module. In this module you should keep all subs, functions and variables that you want to share between forms

I've declared the forms public, and the program was able execute when I called subs from that other form, but halted and gives the error:
Object variable or With block variable not set.
I don't understand.

Again, put the declaration of the forms in the Module, and add an AppManager at the end your your startup form... like i said in the other thread

visualsteve
03-22-2006, 10:48 PM