Create rectangle object and move it

AthlonRob
10-05-2006, 01:36 PM
I want to create a rectangle as an object, and move it around the screen using object.left, object.top, object.location, etc.

Here is my object:

Dim box As System.Drawing.Graphics
cbox = Me.CreateGraphics
box.FillRectangle(Brushes.White, 10, 245, 10, 10)

but I guess this thing I made is not a true object, so I can't use the left, top, and location properties. How do you do this?

Thanks

wayneph
10-05-2006, 01:45 PM
I'm a WebForms programmer more than a WinForms programmer, so please take this with a grain of salt...

You could draw on a Picture Box or Panel, and move that around instead of just the Rectangle.

AthlonRob
10-05-2006, 01:52 PM
I actually created a 10 x 10 jpg in mspaint, and used that as by picture box. Can I create a picturebox and just fill it in (with white or whatever) without referencing an external image file?

wayneph
10-05-2006, 01:54 PM
i believe so. You should be able to either just change the back color, or use FillRectangle like you were doing.

AthlonRob
10-05-2006, 03:09 PM
I am using a picturebox as we decided above, but it's not being created, or at least it's not visible. Odd.

Dim box As New PictureBox
box.BackColor = Color.Pink
box.Height = 10
box.Width = 10
box.Location = New Point(50, 50)
box.Show()
box.Visible = True

I get the feeling this should be something simple :)

AthlonRob
10-06-2006, 07:11 AM
I just had a though this morning driving to work. I am creating my form and creating this object by putting that code in the form's PAINT event. I was reading in my book that it is a good idea to do that since whatever you create will disappear if you minimize or anything. Is it possible that by doing that, I am overwriting my rectangle?

wayneph
10-06-2006, 08:26 AM