Day Finder Program

anatomycut
07-13-2007, 09:23 AM
Hi,

I'm very new to VB and need help please. I want to build a 'Day Finder' program that tells you the day for a given date between 1600 & 2100 and whether it is past, present or future. I have coded the variables and algorithm for a form with 3 text box entries and a command button . How do I get VB to recognise whether the date is past, present or future i.e. by looking to today's date? Is there any existing VB code out there? (i've had a look and could only find a c++ program to date), kind regards

AtmaWeapon
07-13-2007, 09:50 AM
Well it sounds like a school assignment but I think I can provide guidance.

First, TextBox controls may not be the best idea in this case. Consider using DateTimePickers for date entry, since they return a DateTime value.

DateTime has a Now property that represents the moment in time when you access the property. It also overrides the > and < operators, so if Date1 < Date2 you know Date1 happened before Date2. Finally, DateTime has a DayOfWeek property that indicates what day of the week a particular date was.

anatomycut
07-15-2007, 09:34 AM
great, thanks. i want to add a DateDiff Function to my code (which is awful but just about works. i'm using Vb 2005 express edition) e.g.

Private Function IsPPOrF(ByVal strDate As String) As String
If Not IsDate(strDate) Then
IsPPOrF = "Bad date value"

Else
Select Case DateDiff("d", Now, strDate)
Case 0
IsPPOrF = "Present"
Case Is < 0
IsPPOrF = "Past"
Case Is > 0
IsPPOrF = "Future"
End Select
End If
End Function

i have 2 text boxes, a combo box, a find day button and a exit button. how do i do it so my msgbox (it is down at the bottom) says e.g. the day on the 14 jun 1977 is a friday past/present/future. any suggestions please?

Public Class Gregorian_Calendar_2

'Declare variables

Dim Day As Integer
Dim dayNumber As Integer
Dim Month As String
Dim MonthCase As Integer
Dim Year As Integer