MDI Child Question

testlab
08-13-2007, 05:10 PM
Ok, I searched all over the forum I tried many sample codes and it didnt work.
I'm new to VB.

All im trying to do is to make a form a MDIChild. I have set the main form as a MDIContainer, I just dont know how to set the button that I click to open a MDIChild Form.

Any help will due.

Thank You for your help.

Eduardo Lorenzo
08-13-2007, 05:19 PM
Do you have a menu on your parent form?
What you need to do is to create an instance of your child form like so:

Dim newForm as new YOURCIHLDFORMNAME

and then show that instance.

newForm.Show()

and you place this code in the click event of your menu (probably under File-Open)

AtmaWeapon
08-13-2007, 07:52 PM
That won't make it an MDI child.

There is a pretty good (but old) article on MSDN here (http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms973874.aspx), but your question can be answered easily.

Basically you make a form an MDI child at creation. Supposing you have some class ChildForm, the following will make an instance that is an MDI child: Dim babyForm As New ChildForm()

babyForm.MdiParent = Me

babyForm.Show()

*edit* On second thought maybe that article isn't so good; menus might have changed in VB 2005 I haven't really paid much attention... Google does seem to be providing a lot of answers though.

testlab
08-13-2007, 08:00 PM
Hello, and thanks.

I did what AtmaWeapon told me to do and it does open as a child. But now when the MDI child form opens some parts of it is hiding behind images, and a webbrowser that I added in the MDICountainer. Is there a way to fix this ?

Thank You for your help

AtmaWeapon
08-14-2007, 12:04 AM
MDI containers are not really meant to host controls on their own, and since there is a parent-child relationship the MDI container's controls will always be displayed above any MDI child forms.