How to offer data over the internet

Medic
06-14-2002, 12:28 AM
ASP, DHTML, .NET, XML, IIS. So many choices have me going crazy!
I am a beginner to intermediate level Visual Basic programmer, and I am trying to broaden my abilities. Specifically, I am trying to get more knowledgeable about offering dynamic information over the web, but there are so many choices to go with. I am already familiar with database programming with ADO and DAO, and would like to be able to set up an IIS server with access to specialized reports and data from a set of ODBC data files. I can do a great deal of this in Access 2000, with their new "pages" feature, but am limited in what I can control. I want the user to be able to access data, but only over a SECURE connection (128bit, etc) with appropriate password safeguards etc, and get special reports that I run from queries and view and possibly modify information in these data files.
What would any of you suggest as the best way to go to do this. I understand IIS webclasses are going away with the new .Net platform, and yet I am scared to start up with .Net.
It also would be really nice if I could figure out how to create a web based e-commerce style site programmattically and SECURELY.
Thanks in advance for ANY help or ideas!

Robby
06-14-2002, 01:45 AM
ASP and .NET would be a good way to go.

MSDN has a lot of tutorials on both.

Medic
06-14-2002, 10:55 AM
Ok...... Sounds good to me. Does the ASP capability lie within my Visual Basic 6.0 IDE, or do I have to buy a different developement tool? I assume .Net requires an upgrade to visual studio .Net. Is this something I could take as a two-step approach, learning ASP now, and later moving to .Net when I have something to show to my boss to justify the added expense, or does ASP really require .NET? Finally, you mentioned that MSDN has examples of each, does anyone know of a good online (non-Microsoft) tutorial. A good book?

Thanx in advance!

ChiefRedBull
06-14-2002, 01:16 PM