Little problem with updating an Access DB

Spirit
07-24-2002, 01:14 PM
Hi everybody,

i already searched the forum, but the other threads did not help me.

I want to add a new record, but everytime i get this:


Microsoft JET Database Engine Fehler '80040e09'

Updating not possible; Database or Object is read only.


I tried everything, but i couldnt do it.
Here is my code:

set conn = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.connection")
sConnection = "Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;" & _
"Data Source=c:\Server\web\ExDaten\db\Offline.mdb;" & _
"Persist Security Info=False"

conn.Open(sConnection)

strSQL = "SELECT * FROM member"
Set dbe = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Recordset")

dbe.Open strSQL, Conn,1,3

dbe.AddNew
dbe("Nick") = SUNick
dbe("Email") = SUEMail
dbe("Pass") = SUPass
dbe("Name") = SUName
dbe("SurName") = SUSurName
dbe("Age") = SUAge
dbe("EDate") = Date
dbe.Update
dbe.Close


Hope you guys know, what i did wrong!

Thanks
Ben

Rezner
07-24-2002, 01:18 PM
Make sure that the .mdb file itself is not set as "read only" and then make sure that the appropriate read/write permissions are set on the web server's directory.

Spirit
07-24-2002, 02:18 PM
they are ... i worked with the database befor, but suddenly this happens.

It did it already the third time. I can make it work again, when i create a new database with the same tables and copy the records.
But this cant be a permanent solution ... i think

Rezner
07-24-2002, 02:43 PM
Yeah... I have experienced this before on an NT 4.0 network at work. When I got that error message, I would cut the database out of the web directory and then paste it on the desktop. From there, I'd wait a few seconds and then cut it off the desktop and paste it back into the web directory and everything would work great. It would continue to work fine until I did some sort of design modification to one or some of the db's tables. When I got the error, I'd repeat the process. It became habit -- every time I modified the design, I'd do it.

It is still probably on of the most unexplainable things I've experienced on a computer.:confused:

Spirit
07-24-2002, 03:02 PM
At least i am not alone :D

But you are right! Everytime i do some big changes in the database OR in my ASP sites, it does this.

Well, i guess i need to "fix" the database everytime or switch to a SQL-Server.

Thanks anyway!

Ben

EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum