New Site

LordHelmut
08-07-2002, 10:20 PM
Well, I have looked at the current layout for my website long enough. My friend drew what I wanted (a tree) and im going to use that for the site. The menu will appear on the side and maybe some on the branch and then appear in a IFrame. I want to use PHP or something to allow for menus like on www.graalonline.com where you click the + and it drops down. And maybe just do menus along the top with a few basic ones on the trunk. Anywho, heres the image map, how hard will this be to make a site? And anyone care to share the general idea of how to go about it?

Cogen
08-08-2002, 12:37 AM
It wouldn't be that hard to convert into a site, however you might run into issues that deal with looking good in all screen size resolutions (if you want it to expand horizontally and vertically depending on the size). Not impossible to overcome issues, just pain in the neck issues. :)
If I were converting that image, I would start by taking the image into adobe photoshop or adobe imageready, and use the slice tool to create a bunch of images from the main image you have. You need to think of that image in terms of an HTML table. Different pieces of the image will go in different parts of the table. You might be able to get a WYSIWYG tool to do it for you, but I usually do it manually.
Have you ever done anything like that before? The first time is always a good learning experience, although it can be frustrating too. :)

ChiefRedBull
08-08-2002, 07:58 AM
graalonline is one good looking site! Personally, I wouldn't use the image you have straight from your friend, but I'd take it into PS and do some heavy manipulation on it first. As it stands, its a nice picture, but it's just not suitable for the web - especially as a base for a site design. It needs to be cleaner, sharper, more colorful, possibly stylized slightly in terms of shape. Also, it needs a better background color.
Earlier you posted a link to cyr1x or something on your FTO server - now that's a nice design...

As for actual HTML layout.. do as Cogen suggested - split the image into several pieces, and lay them all out with tables. This makes rollovers and mapping much easier to do, as its all on a smaller scale.

ChiefRedBull
08-08-2002, 07:59 AM
Oh and about DHTML menus - check out some on www.dynamicdrive.com Have a look at the source, then you'll get some idea of how hard they are. Basically, you use HTML layers or divs to store all the stuff, then JS to move and manipulate them.

LordHelmut
08-08-2002, 11:31 AM
Thanks guys. Yea, right now im using tables on www.fantasytalesonline.com but I have never actually split the image up. I might have to pay someone to make the image nicer because im horrible in PS. Thats pretty neat though, just break it up into portions and then form one big image with it :D No I havent ever done it before :-\

LordHelmut
08-10-2002, 03:10 AM
I decided to forget the tree. Im just gonna go with a high tech gradient style theme. What im wondering is on sites like www.pixel-zone.net www.ragnarokonline.com (english site) and others, they seem to have everything divided up into different little windows. Im not talking about the tables but almost similar to what newspro does. Is this hard to do with PHP?

ChiefRedBull
08-10-2002, 09:50 AM
The "little windows" are just created from HTML. Using a table to lay out images in such a way as to produce an effect is easy...
PHP doens't really have much to do with it - writing the HTML to do it is the hard part, all the PHP will be doing is passing that HTML to the browser.

LordHelmut
08-10-2002, 08:55 PM
No i mean like...couldnt you have a php file that you call on and it creates lots of little windows. Not the actual tables but the windows type looking things. So say if you were making newspro and you know how each time you post a new window shows up, thats not a seperate table. Couldnt that be done with PHP?

ChiefRedBull
08-11-2002, 06:45 AM
Since PHP is a cgi language - it's run server side, the best it could do is output JS to open the windows. (I think.. i might be wrong).

LordHelmut
08-11-2002, 02:58 PM
Ok I have been researching and I found this out. See, the english part of http://www.ragnarokonline.com does exactly what I want to do. Based on what general category you are in from the top, it displays different stuff on the side. They could have just made a different side for each category on the top but I doubt it, Im thinking they used PHP or something and made a template so they could reuse the look for displaying what they want. I saved the entire page and this is what I found...

http://www.fantasytalesonline.com/images/ex.gif

They just repeat that image for the background of the little side panels. This is how they can make the panels longer or shorter depending on data showing on it. So do you think this would be fairly easy to do with a PHP template of some sort?

------------------------------------------------------------------------

I also want to do a news posting script. It doesnt have to be anything to involved but it should allow people with there name and pass in a file to write a message and it shows up on the main board. I want to configure it like this. One of the posting options is the person chooses wether its a notice, a news item, etc.

http://www.fantasytalesonline.com/images/ex1.gif

So depending on what is chosen, it shows a different icon on the right side. Then just the message underneath. This is just basically a really simple newspro script that I want to make but im not sure how hard it would be. I definently know this would use templates since it will be displaying the basic format over and over again. Will MySQL be needed here or could I just hold a file of some sort with the account and passes for people who can post?

ChiefRedBull
08-11-2002, 03:32 PM
I've written a news script in Perl. It's about 25KB long, and wasn't very hard. I've stored everything in a plain old text file and password protected the file modification functions within the script. It took me a few days to write and wasn't very hard, and wouldn't be much different with SQL and a db.

I think you're still missing the point about the other thing though. All the client browser sees is HTML. All the PHP is doing is reading from a template and passing it to the browser. It is probably reading the actual content from a db somewhere, but it's the HTML doing the formatting and NOT the PHP.
The panels you are talking about are tables, with images in them to make them look like "windows". The height of the panels is controlled by the content within the tables - they stretch according to the amount of text within each table cell.
The background is just set as tiled, and however large the table, will be filled as necessary.

<td width="163" background="../img/sub_bg.gif" valign="top">

rich2kchan
08-12-2002, 08:24 PM
If u want to be exact, actually, it mainly uses JavaScript to change the visibility property of the layers (div) which represent the sides in the web page where the creator of the webpage must've previously set the layers' positions and stuffs.

And to clarify the confusion u have, u might've missed the meaning of PHP and server side scripting -- it only runs on the server, it would not do anything animation or dynamic changes on the webpage once its displayed.

Hope that helps.

LordHelmut
08-13-2002, 10:28 PM
Im having an HTML problem. This is what I got. I want 5 images RIGHT next to each other with no gaps in between them. But to make it visibly nice to look at my code, i put them on seperate lines. No <BR> no <p> just seperate lines.

<img src="blah.gif">
<img src="blah1.gif">
<img src="blah2.gif">
<img src="blah3.gif">
<img src="blah4.gif">

Isnt there some kinda symbol or something I can put to make it be able to stay like that but also not have spaces?

rich2kchan
08-15-2002, 09:57 PM
Consider using <div> or <layer>.

EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum