how to design a magic square game

tanestee
03-01-2003, 11:01 PM
hi hi i'm new in VB. i'm here to ask some expert advice and guideline on how to design a magic square for children. The square is in 3x3 grid with nine numbers. the two diagonals add up to the same amount that is 15.can anyone help me to design how the system should work. i have no idea on how to do it.this is not just to design the interface but the defination of what code executes on the client, what the function of the server code is, what the messages and patterns of message exchange are between the client and server and the tables and fields of the database on the server. the client dose not read and write the databse directly but they send the message to the server and then the server responds with message that allow the client program to present the player with game. huh sound very tedious thing to be done. i reallly need some xpert guide n help... thank you very much for those who help me..thankss

Machaira
03-02-2003, 07:25 AM
I would recommend learning the basics first. If you can afford to, buy Jonathan Harbour's excellent book - http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/193184125X/qid=1046611576/sr=1-1/ref=sr_1_1/104-1385810-2309553?v=glance&s=books

GavinO
03-02-2003, 11:58 AM
As for a magic square, it will most likely involve an array of TextBox controls, and some code in their Change() events to recalculate the sums. You can probably put the bit that announces a win in there too. Something like the MsgBox() command would do nicely. Note that an array of TextBoxes will make it easier to code than individual TextBoxes. By array I mean setting the Name property of each the same, and having the Index property different. This limits you to one Change() event that recalculates, rather than 9.

tanestee
03-03-2003, 08:31 AM