Xtreme Visual Basic Talk

Xtreme Visual Basic Talk (http://www.xtremevbtalk.com/)
-   .NET Database and Reporting (http://www.xtremevbtalk.com/-net-database-and-reporting/)
-   -   Data Value Does Not Show (http://www.xtremevbtalk.com/-net-database-and-reporting/327267-data-value.html)

sirmilt 09-15-2014 02:01 PM

Data Value Does Not Show
 
Using Visual Basic 2010 with an SQL Server 2005 database. There are four Windows forms, three of which represent a collection and the fourth is a loan record available to all three collections.

The problem which sounds simple defied my ability to resolve.

The data on the collections form is filled using a data adapter. I have no problem saving any details to the database. When I call a form (which contains 16 controls) the data fills almost perfectly. One field, a small integer refuses to fill. The data is in the database, the control was created by dragging from the data source and there are no errors shown or present but the one control refuses to fill. All of the definitions seem to me to be correct but the control simply refuses to fill.

I started this program in Visual Basic 2010 (ultimate) and after three full days of trying I downloaded and installed Visual Basic 2013 (express) and the results are the same. I have changed the receiving control from Text Box to Label since the detail to be presented is informational only and will not be changed by the User, to no avail.

Hopefully someone can help me figure out why this is happening and how to fix it.

Milt

JustinCase2 02-24-2015 08:55 AM

Well
 
Kindof hard to tell whats wrong without seeing the code, but i will make a Guess:
You created the Field in question AFTER you dragged/dropped the adapter from the data Source, and have not updated Your Select/update statements afterwards. Look in Your app.config, where the data Source is defined. Check the update and Select statements, do they include the field in question?

Theyeop 08-29-2016 03:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JustinCase2 (Post 1407860)
Kindof hard to tell whats wrong without seeing the code, but i will make a Guess:
You created the Field in question AFTER you dragged/dropped the adapter from the data Source, and have not updated Your Select/update statements afterwards. Look in Your app.config, where the data Source is defined. Check the update and Select statements, do they include the field in question?

i agree! relly hard to tell what is going wrong without indicating any codes. to make an exact reaction that will somehow solve the issue it is much appropriate if there's a more detail explanation to the problem. most likely like adding some screenshot of the codes:)


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:24 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO v2.0.15 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
All site content is protected by the Digital Millenium Act of 1998. Copyright©2001-2011 MAS Media Inc. and Extreme Visual Basic Forum. All rights reserved.
You may not copy or reproduce any portion of this site without written consent.