Xtreme Visual Basic Talk

Xtreme Visual Basic Talk (http://www.xtremevbtalk.com/)
-   .NET Database and Reporting (http://www.xtremevbtalk.com/-net-database-and-reporting/)
-   -   DateTimePicker Date Range in DataGridView (http://www.xtremevbtalk.com/-net-database-and-reporting/328207-datetimepicker-date-range-datagridview.html)

SwsCheez 05-13-2016 10:30 PM

DateTimePicker Date Range in DataGridView

I am a frustrated Newb. I am trying to use a couple of datetimepickers to display the date range from an Access Database in a DataGridView. Here is the code I am using:

Dim dtp1 As String = DateTimePicker1.Text
Dim dtp2 As String = DateTimePicker2.Text
Dim strCriteria, task As String

Me.Refresh()
If dtp1 = "" Then
MsgBox("Please Enter The Date Range", vbInformation, "Date Range Required")
Else
strCriteria = "([Appt Date] >= #" & dtp1 & "# And [Appt Date] <= #" & dtp2 & "#)"
task = "SELECT * FROM BDC1 WHERE (" & strCriteria & ") order by [Appt Date]"

End If

SwsCheez 05-16-2016 09:01 PM

Wow.... Not one person has seen this?

Cerian Knight 05-17-2016 12:35 PM

The 'task' query string looks basically correct, except for possibly redundant WHERE '()'. What happens when you process the query string?

SwsCheez 05-28-2016 07:35 PM

HELP Please!!!! I just want the datagrid to show the information between the dates of datetimepicker1 and datetimepicker2. I still can't seem to get this to work. Here is my code and below it is the error that I get.

Dim dtp1 As String = DateTimePicker1.Value.ToString("#MM/dd/yyyy#")
Dim dtp2 As String = DateTimePicker2.Value.ToString("#MM/dd/yyyy#")

Dim con As OleDbConnection = New OleDbConnection("Provider = Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;Data Source=|DataDirectory|\BDC3.mdb")
Dim sql = "SELECT * FROM BDC1 WHERE [Appt Date] BETWEEN '" + dtp1 + "' AND '" + dtp2 + "' order by [Appt Date]"
Dim da As OleDbDataAdapter = New OleDbDataAdapter(sql, con)
Dim dt As New DataTable()
da.Fill(dt)
con.Close()
DataGridView1.DataSource = dt