Xtreme Visual Basic Talk

Xtreme Visual Basic Talk (http://www.xtremevbtalk.com/)
-   .NET File I/O and Registry (http://www.xtremevbtalk.com/-net-file-i-o-and-registry/)
-   -   checking for folder - and advice needed (http://www.xtremevbtalk.com/-net-file-i-o-and-registry/328877-checking-folder-advice.html)

starmanMike 12-08-2017 05:36 AM

checking for folder - and advice needed

I have bitten the bullet and obtained VS2017 to update the app I wrote in VB6, thus I am an absolute beginner in .net! I have a startup form which needs to check for a couple of folders (which will be used later on) and if they don't exist they need to be created. In VB6 this was straightforward with declaring a FileSystemObject but in .net it seems to be different. What I have so far is this (I stsrted coding in .net literally yesterday!)
Code:

Imports System
Imports System.IO
Public Class frmStartup
    Private Sub frmStartup_Load(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load
        Dim obsfolder As String, chartsfolder As String
        obsfolder = Application.ExecutablePath & "\obs"
        chartsfolder = Application.ExecutablePath & "\charts"

If System.IO.Directory.Exists(obsfolder) = False Then
            System.IO.Directory.CreateDirectory(obsfolder)
        End If
        If System.IO.Directory.Exists(chartsfolder) = False Then
            System.IO.Directory.CreateDirectory(chartsfolder)
        End If

End Sub
End Class

But when I run, I get the attached message in the immediate window:
Exception thrown: 'System.IO.IOException' in mscorlib.dll
The form appears but the folders are not created. I have made a virtual disk for my VS2017 projects.

Okay - since I am such a beginner I need a decent guide through the .net minefield. Can anyone suggest a book or tutorial? I have one from our local library but it doesn't cover everything I need for this project. It's "Beginning VB 2015" by Bryan Newsome.

Daigon Ali 12-08-2017 06:58 AM

Hi,