Go Back  Xtreme Visual Basic Talk > Legacy Visual Basic (VB 4/5/6) > Knowledge Base > Code Library > A current trend

Old 01-19-2005, 01:00 PM
Google Hound

Retired Moderator
* Guru *

Default A current trend

We've had quite a few requests over the years for information on trending. That is, displaying a continuously changing set of data in a graphical format. Essentially, you are plotting Y-Value(s) over time.

In my prior life (Before IT) I was a control engineer, and I was heavily involved in this area, so I threw together a couple of simple demo applications. Both the apps use a very simple graphing technique - just drawing lines on a picture box. In a more fully developed system, you would probably want to move to a more powerful charting tool set, such as MS Chart, or review BillSoo's excellent tutorial: How to Create a Line Graph.

The preferred method of storing data for such a system is by using a database. There are several reasons for this. First, the ADO database objects and relational databases offer powerful methods for storing, retreiving, and sorting data. You can greatly improve the security and reliability of your system by using a database. In addition, database servers such as MS SQL Server (MSDE), Oracle, PostgreSQL, and MySQL are designed for multiuser access. This greatly enhances the ability of your application to be scaleable. In other words, you can much more easily expand your system by using a database server to store and retrieve your data. In fact, in larger systems, it is common to have a separate database server to store the data, with one or more I/O systems which populate the database, and one or more user interface systems, which are used to display the data to the users.