Go Back  Xtreme Visual Basic Talk > General Discussion > Tech Discussions > How To Control Google Earth with VB 6

Old 08-16-2007, 12:24 PM
Junior Contributor

* Expert *

Default How To Control Google Earth with VB 6

I work in the aerospace industry as your basic "all purpose" engineer. At one point, I had to write a flight simulator to interface with and drive our avionics systems. One of the things I did when I wrote it was to attach it to Google Earth so I could use it as a visual reference (just seeing geo coordinates doesn't mean a whole lot to me).

I developed some pretty usefull classes out of this and thought I'd post them here for anyone else who might need to automate Google Earth. They have a pretty decently documented type library that's installed when you install Google Earth on your system, but it's rather limited and extremely quirky. Think of the classes I'm posting here as a collection of lessons learned.

Some of the code in here (such as clearing the temporary places folder or checking the binary for Camera support) was lifted from the following location:
http://www.fortotalrecall.com/GE%20interface.htm

Make sure you have the latest Google Earth installed before trying it. In some cases, I've seen where a previously installed version fails to launch. Every time this has occured, I've been able to fix the problem by reinstalling Google Earth (you only have to do this once, the problem is resolved after that).

Google Earth specific classes are as follows:

CGEarth:
Main interface to the Google Earth application and camera view.

CGEAircraft
This is an example KML object that I created to demonstrate how you can overlay icons and other graphical data in the GE window.

CGETrack
This is a list of track coordinates (which is used by CGEAircraft to construct its flight history path).

CGETrackPoint
A single flight history path coordinate point.