Go Back  Xtreme Visual Basic Talk > General Discussion > Tech Discussions > Proposal for VB6 replacement

Old 02-27-2008, 01:37 PM
Freshman

Default Proposal for VB6 replacement

I want to know the most important elements of VB6 that should be included in the development of a new version of Basic (provisionally called XtremeBasic or XBasic ). The motivation of XBasic is a useful language close in spirit to VB6. It improves on parts of VB6 syntax that are generally disliked, but will not introduce changes just for the sake of change.

XBasic is what Microsoft would have produced if they actually listened to users who cared about the product. But unlike Microsoft and VB6, XBasic will be supported and developed long term. I'm an indie developer & want to release an initial version soon, so some VB6 features will be added to later version as demand and user interest permits.
  1. Similar / Identical elements
  2. Improvements to VB
  3. Old VB6 elements that will be dropped
  4. VB6 things that are different
  5. Features for future versions
  6. Undecided areas

Similar / Identical elements

These are things in VB6 that will work in the same way (or a similar way) in XBasic.
  • Control structures, Call, Class, Const, Dim, Do, End, Exit, For, For each, Function, If, Elseif, Let, On error, Redim, Select case, Sub, While will be the same.
  • Data types Currency, Date, Double, Long and String will be the same.
  • Boolean, Enum type the same.
  • UDT type the same.
  • Collection type can store multiple elements of any one type.
  • Functions and Subs will have the same syntax as VB.
  • The Int type will be upgraded to 32 bits.
  • The Float type will be upgraded to 64 bits, making it internally the same as a Double. This shouldn't affect code as the Float keyword can still be used.